Many types of moving violations can have negative effects on your driver’s license and insurance rates.
You may have received a ticket for failing to stop at a stop sign or a steady red light. If you were involved in an accident, you may have been cited for making an unsafe movement, or for failing to reduce your speed to avoid a collision. How a moving violation will affect your license and insurance depends on many different factors, including your driving record, the driving history of other drivers on your policy, your specific insurance plan, and the type of ticket you received.
In many cases, it is possible to lessen the negative effects of a moving violation ticket or avoid them altogether. However, an experienced traffic attorney must examine the specific facts of your case, your driving record, and the terms of your insurance policy to ensure the best result in your case.
Hale Law Firm, PC, in Raleigh, North Carolina, provides results-oriented representation in all types of traffic violation cases. Before you pay a traffic fine, call us at 919-838-0058 for a free consultation.
Minimizing The Effects Of A Moving Violation
In North Carolina, a conviction for a moving violation will increase your insurance premiums unless you obtain a more favorable result. In some cases, receipt of a prayer for judgment continued, or “PJC,” will lighten the negative consequences of a moving violation.
We can review the circumstances of your case and discuss your legal options. You may be eligible for a PJC, a reduced charge or outright dismissal of your ticket.
Having A Moving Violation On Your Record Can Be Costly
Although tickets for moving violations are very common, they can cause serious and unanticipated consequences. A moving violation can result in an increase in insurance rates of between 25 percent and 400 percent, and you will be assessed between two and five points on your driver’s license. If you reach 12 license points, your license will be suspended. Serious moving violations, such as reckless or aggressive driving, hit-and-run or passing a stopped school bus are considered criminal offenses and may result in license suspensions, fines, probation or imprisonment.
Hale Law Firm, PC, may be able to help you avoid the negative consequences of a moving violation. We can advise you of the best way to resolve your ticket and will help you obtain a dismissal of your charge, a reduction of your charge or a PJC if needed.
Free Consultation — Contact Us Today
Call 919-838-0058 or send us an email to schedule a free consultation about a moving violation case in or around Wake County.